a dying world

There are some days where you’ve heard of enough pain to know the world is dying. Children with rare and dangerous diseases. Exhausted mothers. Terminal diseases. Broken parents who bully their children. Children who hate their parents. I could go on and on.

Today, I just reread “Tuck Everlasting” by Natalie Babbitt. In this story, the Tuck family drank from a peculiar spring and found that they cannot die. They will live forever.

Sometimes I wish I had longer to live, just in case I mess up the life I have now and want a redo. But live forever? I shudder and hope I don’t live to be too old, because there would be too much pain for my heart to hold. This world will pass away and that’s a relief.

Leave a Reply

