what you need

I was overjoyed today to discover that “The Princess and the Frog” was available to play instantly on Netflix. I’ve gone back and forth on what my all-time favorite Disney movie is, but I would have to give that award to “The Princess and the Frog.” All around best story line, most redemptive ending, best character development, and great music. Today was my third or fourth time watching it, and every time I watch it, one particular line catches my ear.

The bad guy in this movie, Dr. Facilier, shows Tiana a vision of what her life could be like if she gives in


Princess Tiana "in person" when Carson and I were at Disneyland

to his demands. He shows her how she could make her daddy’s dreams come true (her father dies before he is able to open his restaurant). Dr. Facilier paints a vivid picture of the wonderful restaurant Tiana could have, saying, “But you… you can give your poor daddy everything he ever wanted.”

Tiana thinks for a moment over her memories, of how much love was in her family, and then says, “My Daddy never did get what he wanted. But he had what he needed. He had love. He never lost  sight of what was really important.”

Didn’t get what he wanted. But had what he needed.

Sometimes I wish I had money to just buy whatever my heart pleased and I could go places and do things. There are many things I want, but actually, I have what I need.

A wonderful husband. Food to eat. A place to live. A few good friends. Love.

It’s easy for me to get caught up in the message I hear all around me, “Make more. Buy more. Be more. Have more.”

Tiana’s father in this movie was a blue collar worker, he and his family lived in a small house, and they had love. I think that’s about all one can ask for.

One thought on “what you need

Leave a Reply

