On Frodo and life

I hate to write two posts commenting on movies in such close proximity, but I can’t help it. I’m making my way through the Lord of the Rings movie series, and picking up on some interesting quotes and themes. Hopefully you are familiar with this story, a fantasy series written by J.R.R. Tolkein, who was a contemporary of C.S. Lewis. In the movie, Frodo has been charged to carry the ring of power to Mount Doom to destroy it forever. He is saddened by the darkness that has come over his world and that he has to bear such a heavy burden.

Frodo Baggins

In short, he laments that his life is so full of pain, darkness, fear, and evil, saying, “I wish the ring had never come to me.”

Gandalf (a wise man of sorts in this story) replies, “So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

None of us, even in the most difficult hour, have ever faced the end of the world. When we face sadness, difficulty, or pain, we may say to ourselves, “I wish this hadn’t happened to me. I wish I didn’t have all this trouble.”

For myself, I often think, “I wish I didn’t have these migraines.”

But that is not for me to decide.

I wish I didn’t have so many student loans.  But that is not for me to decide. “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

However humble our circumstances, we can choose how we will live in the days given to us.

Psalm 90:12, “Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

Leave a Reply

