wretched mornings

I hate mornings. I felt the potency of my dislike this morning as my feet hit the cold hardwood flooring. Aside from the obvious (such as going to work), there are only a few reasons I manage to get out of the bed in the morning:

1)      I’m hungry and ready for breakfast. I’m a big breakfast fan and sometimes I think it’s the only reason I get up in the morning.

2)      My hubby’s cat is meowing. “That Cat” seems to pick random mornings during which she will make incessant noises until you come out the bedroom (our bedroom is a no-go zone for her).

3)      The smoke alarm. This happened when we were first married and my hubby wanted to surprise me with breakfast in bed.

4)      When I can smell a hot, delicious breakfast cooking. (see number 3, it was actually a very good breakfast). Who can resist bacon, eggs and hashbrowns?

The part of the morning that involves abandoning a perfectly warm bed has always been my least favorite, even as a kid. Of course, if I didn’t wake myself up, I would often by unceremoniously waken by one of my three sisters. The only two people I would choose to let wake me up would be my mom or my husband. Even though my mom is a morning person, she seemed to understand the difficulties of not being one, and would wake me up with a quiet “good morning” and a kiss on the cheek. Hubby is pretty good at doing something similar, and he knows better than to wake me up at all. 🙂

One really great thing about “growing up” is that in the mornings, I decide when to wake up. And, I decide what to eat for breakfast. I’ve also found that a little cappuccino drink mix goes a long way. I’ve given up on the lofty accomplishments of Morning People, such as:

1)      Going for a run in the early morning. Seriously, that’s one of the most unpleasant times to work out. My muscles are achey because they haven’t warmed up yet, the cold air is biting my nose, and there is no one out but the garbage man, which basically just reminds me that all the sensible people are still in their warm beds.

2)      Doing devotions in the early morning. I just cannot. I am at my grumpiest in the morning. I read something once that suggested you do your devotions when you are at your best, so that God gets you best. I like that system.

3)      I feel like there should be a third, but I really don’t know what Morning People do, since I am a Night Owl.

 

Are you a Morning Person or a Night Owl?

2 thoughts on “wretched mornings

  1. Michael Fritz says:

    I am a NIGHT HAWK. I hate getting up early in the morning, so much so that breakfast seldom entices me to do so. I am a big fan of LUNCH and DINNER.

  2. mom says:

    other cool things to do in the morning:
    mess around on the internet
    clean stuff
    read a book you cannot intellectually justify
    make lists
    start a fun project instead of accomplishing obnoxious necessary tasks
    complete an obnoxious task so you can gloat all day
    start dinner in the crockpot
    eat breakfast, take shower, go back to bed since it is still so early

Leave a Reply

