run run run stop

Sometimes I feel like the Energizer bunny. Going and going and going and going. But then suddenly my battery runs out. I stop. I cry. I whine. I grump. Sometimes I totally fall apart. Our lives are so full.

While I don’t believe in being lazy, I do believe in taking time to be still. Yesterday I did not do that. I got lots of stuff done in the morning, went to work, came back briefly, got dinner going, ran back to work, got off, finished dinner and basically fell apart.

Talking to friends who have been to places like Africa, one of the things they’ve mentioned is how differently time feels there. It moves much more slowly. I think we need a little more of that in our lives. A time when we’re not always rushing onto the next thing.

Right now I’m sitting my living room and I have an unexpected afternoon to myself. It’s very quiet. I feel like something’s wrong. I could be doing something—put on some loud music and do some cleaning. But my soul needs some calm.

 

A moment to thank God for a new day.

 

A moment to hear nothing but my own breathing.

 

A moment to read part of a book.

 

A moment to sip a cup of tea.

 

And today, a moment to think of those who have died for our country and those who continue to serve, who give us the safety to even have a peaceful moment.

 

 

2 thoughts on “run run run stop

  1. Michael Fritz says:

    I don’t know about you, but I have a tendency to overbook my day. I always have more to than I have time to do it. The result? Frustration and many things that don’t get done.

Leave a Reply

