warm things

I’m trying to think warm thoughts, as this weather is only making my toes into little icicles. Not warm thoughts like fuzzy cliches, but warm thoughts like happy thoughts, things that make me forget about being cold. Today I watched “Eat Pray Love.” It was a very enjoyable movie with some quotable lines and a lot of truth mixed in with a bunch of different worldviews.

Liz (main character): “I’m sick of people telling me that I need a man.”
Her friend replies: “You don’t need a man, Liz. You need a champion.”

To me, the significant thing about this interchange is that Liz had not had any single time before this. She was always with some guy or another. But she didn’t need just another guy. She needed a champion. I think that’s awesome encouragement for girls who are still waiting to find their other half. Wait for a champion.

Liz receives this piece of advice (among many) during the movie: “You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.”

This advice is not coming from the perspective of a Christ-follower, but that doesn’t make it any less true. Personally, I have a tendency to be so focused on my actions I forget to guard my thoughts. A very wise older woman told this to me, “Thoughts are exceedingly important to God.” She quoted to me 2 Corinthians 10:5b, “Take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. ” I have to retrain my brain.

Lastly, some more advice given to Liz: “God is not interested in watching a performance of how a spiritual person looks and behaves.”

So true! This was the downfall of the Israelites–they worshiped God outwardly but inwardly they had turned from Him. How often do we as Christians seek to look “spiritual”? How often is it a performance? For me this was a reminder to live my life for an audience of One.
These serious thoughts aside, I enjoyed “Eat Pray Love” immensely, especially the beginning because of all the fantastic Italian food Liz gets to eat. πŸ˜›
3 thoughts on “warm things

  1. Shawnee says:

    πŸ™‚ Thanks for this post. I read the book and am excited to see the movie. There are so many different world views involved with this piece, and I feel as though many Christians are very turned off from this piece because of the variety. You’re right, there is a lot of wisdom in that book/movie. Of course there are a lot of untruths as well. I love that I am an English major. I feel like I was taught to critically pick out the truths and the untruths. I am a firm believer in everybody talking a Literary Criticism class from Corban. πŸ˜€

    P.S. It was good to see you the other day.

  2. Michael Fritz says:

    Well, I never took a lit crit class at Corban but I did study English Literature at the University of Minnesota. Oh my gosh–a secular university–and a State school–how terrible is that? Not so bad. Anyway, I have not read the book or seen the movie of which you refer, but I have found that most Hollywood movies have a touch of wisdom and a lot of mind candy. I take the wisdom AND LEAVE THE REST. STAY WARM

Leave a Reply

