Christmas cheer (sugar)

Well, I guess sugar isn’t the only form of Christmas cheer. But it doesn’t hurt. Sometimes I think the hardest weather to cope with is the ominous drizzle. Anytime you go anywhere you get soaked and it’s so cold you are perpetually wet and cold. Today’s drizzle inspired me to make some zucchini bread. It baked beautifully; unfortunately I’m having trouble extricating it from the loaf pans. šŸ˜¦ Since it is the first of the month, I am also planning my grocery list for the month and watching others bake is getting me excited. A friend shared some Russian tea cakes with me the other day. Delicious! Definitely on my list to make. Homemade caramels? Yes, please. Sugar cookies with sprinkles? Mmmm.

What’s your favorite holiday treat?

3 thoughts on “Christmas cheer (sugar)

  1. Michael Fritz says:

    I think that the cold drizzly days leave much to be desired. I am so glad that I don’t have to go on bivouacs or field training exercises anymore. I vividly recall trying to set up camp in the freezing rain in Germany. Hot coffee was the best then. Holiday treats? I really like semi-sweet things–like zucchini bread, or banana bread, and a cup of hot apple cider–but not too hot.

  2. Michael Fritz says:

    I like sugar. Unfortunately, it likes to stay with me, so I try to limit how much sugary stuff I eat. Angela made some Russian tea cakes they were fantastic.

Leave a Reply

