Feeble knees

Ever have a morning where you feel that perhaps the only thing you could accomplish today is getting out of bed? Today was such a morning for me. Undue amounts of stress have incited a flood of bad dreams, one pair of very stiff shoulders, an immune system vacillating on the verge of a full blown cold, and a generally very stiff and uncooperative body. But I did finally get out of bed. Sometimes it’s not because I’ve actually gotten enough sleep but because I need to escape a bad dream. Thankfully, the next couple of days will hopefully be a time where I can “re-center” and be focusing on the Christ’s birth.

I sat on my couch today with a cup of chamomile tea, trying to get my shoulders to uncoil from their vicious, curled up state. My joints hurt, I have a headache (not a great way to start a day), and I thought of this verse.

Hebrews 12:12, “Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees. Make level paths for your feet, so that the lame may not be disabled, but rather healed.”

When I am fighting my earthly body to try and get on with my day, it’s easy to feel like there are a million obstacles in my path.

Strengthen.

Make level paths.

I thought this verse seemed appropriate especially since Christmas is this week.

Psalm 31:24, “Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.”

2 thoughts on “Feeble knees

  1. Nicole says:

    Here’s to hoping that tomorrow morning, you will JUMP out of bed!! 🙂 But, yes, I have had mornings like that too. You did the right thing by focusing on what’s important. 🙂

  2. Michael Fritz says:

    I have had mornings like that that lasted for weeks. I recall that I used to get extremely bad headaches that would last for days. I used to smoke cigarettes then, but I never attributed to headaches to the smoking. When I finally quit smoking cigarettes, I found that I did not get the headaches as often. I also noticed that they were not as painful as when I smoked.

    I still get headaches, but at least now they are not self-inflicted.

    I am not sure why I wrote this, but I just thought I would share that.

    Perhaps, I still have much to learn about hoping in the Lord too.

Leave a Reply

