Three-dog night

Apparently “three-dog night” is a synonym for the word “frigid.” No idea why. I feel I must jump on the bandwagon and comment on the cold, Siberian temperatures we’ve been having. Some cold I can handle. Warm socks, a fluffy down coat, cozy scarf, and some good mittens do wonders at cutting the chill. Lately though, that has not been the case. The cold is piercing enough to make me feel like I’m really only wearing flipflops and a thin, cotton dress. It’s the kind of cold that makes a little knot in my stomach. As I sought to warm up today, I thought of how thankful I am that I have ways to get warm!

1)      The lowly microwave. It might be a standard appliance in most households, but without my microwave I could not heat up a hot pack to keep warm (cotton hot pack with dried corn inside). Also, it’s very useful for reheating tea that seems to cool at an alarming rate.

2)      Blankets. I feel lucky to have enough bedding to pile on to lock in the heat (thanks to my brother and sister-in-law who bought me a new wool throw)

3)      Down coat. I hesitated to buy a new coat this last fall because I didn’t want to spend the money. It’s probably the best $40 I’ve ever spent. It can’t keep out all the cold, but I would be an icicle without it.

4)      Tea. Thanks to Winco, I can buy tea bags for 9 cents each. Nice minty warmness.

What’s your favorite way to stay warm in the winter?

3 thoughts on “Three-dog night

  1. Karen Massingil says:

    “Three Dog Night”…The ol’ cowpokes (or sheep herders, depending on where you’re from), when bedding down for the night out on the range would measure the temperature of the night by how many dogs they had to cuddle up with to keep warm! A “Three Dog Night” meant it was REALLY, REALLY COLD! (I think that’s about how cold it is for Heather right now, but she only has one dog!)

    I’m with NIcole…I would die without my fuzzy socks and piles of warm blankets! I love my Chai Tea Latte’, too!

  2. Michael Fritz says:

    I am glad that I am not in the Northern Midwest or the Northeast US right now because it is really cold there. To me the temperature here in Salam are chilly but not cold.

    I remember when I was stationed in Germany, and Korea as well. The cold in those places was very humid and seem to cut right through to the bones. In January 1990, I recall being out in the freezing rain setting up our camp. My First Sergeant sat down an tried to warm his hands with a cigarette lighter, which did not work well at all. I resumed the task of helping my soldiers pitch the tent. Finally, after what seemed like an eternity, we had the tent up and the diesel fueled tent heater going. It felt like heaven after being our in the freezing, rainy, bone-chilling cold for several hours. I don’t miss those days–AT ALL.

Leave a Reply

