In Honor of Wednesday

One order of baked eggs, please! I’m not sure what eggs have to do with Wednesday (probably nothing) but they were definitely the bright spot in my cold, gray, strange day (which apparently turns me into Mrs. Seuss). All credit for the original recipe goes to the author of the blog “Epicurean Bliss”, whose post titled “When an Egg Met a Cupcake Tin” caught my attention for the good.

If you know me very well at all, you would also know that my husband is difficult to cook for. Not because he’s a gourmet mind you, but because he wants to eat like he is 6 years old (I’m not being insulting, he would admit this). Mac and cheese, Top Ramen, Instant Lunch, spaghetti, PB and jelly sandwiches. No wine reduction sauces for this man. He’s also just not that into food in general, but when I made these eggs, he HOVERED. He never hovers. He could care less that food is there. I think his brain says something like, “Oh food! Right! I guess I do have to eat it to survive.” Unless it’s cheddar filled little smokies. Or these baked eggs. I only made us 2 eggs apiece at first, but he polished his two off and then asked, “Can we make more?”

My baked eggs were slightly less gourmet than the ones in the recipe, especially since I don’t have ready access to fresh herbs. I made ours with hash browns that I had precooked and minced, sauted onion. Crack an egg on top, cook for 10-15 minutes, sprinkle a little Parmesan cheese and black pepper on top (about 2 min. before done) and there you go. Here’s something I learned the hard way–be sure to spray your muffin tin with an obscene amount of spray. You’ll thank me later. I also introduced a friend to these lovely eggs–we made hers with sauted onion and garlic, and a couple little smokies (sliced into coins).

How do you like your eggs?

2 thoughts on “In Honor of Wednesday

  1. Michael Fritz says:

    Well Sarah, To state that Carson is just like his Dad would be a gross understatement. Bill will say that he is not hungry at all until I mention eggs. Then he perks right up and is more than ready to devour them. I usually make a skillet type meal with plenty of meat, onions, peppers, garlic and lots of cheese. Bill and Carson both love cheese. I never thought about baking eggs.

Leave a Reply

