Just Keep Swimming

Dory’s chant from “Finding Nemo” keeps going through my head, “Just keep swimming, just keeping swimming.” And this time, it’s not just the stress of life, or sheer busyness. I’m pregnant! Baby is due July 17, and so far is making mommy’s life a ton of fun. :/

Before getting pregnant, I had visions of the perfect pregnant woman I would be.

Vision: I will keep exercising and maybe even do some light running!

Reality: I am too sick to even take a walk.

Vision: I will eat healthy, balanced meals and not gain excess weight.

Reality: I will eat whatever I can stomach (which I will say, has not been excessively unhealthy things).

Vision: I will feel so happy and glowing that my emotions will ride me through whatever nausea and morning sickness come my way.

Reality: I am thrilled to be having a baby. I am not enjoying being pregnant.

Being pregnant has been one of the most humbling things I have ever gone through. I am used to being self-sufficient and hard working. I do the grocery shopping and cooking. When there is a huge list of chores, I decide to barrel through and do them all in the same day. I get errands done as quickly as possible.

Now…I can barely stand to do the grocery shopping myself. I can barely cook a thing. We’ve been eating a lot of frozen meals. I can’t even manage to stay on top of the dishes, much less keep the house clean or the laundry done. It makes me feel so helpless! I’ve become so dependent on my poor, hardworking hubby.

The biggest thing I’ve learned to date is to take it one day at a time, one meal at a time. I have to cut myself some slack and turn a blind eye to the fact that my house is turning into a horrible mess and that I just keep shoving stuff in the soon to be “baby room.” That has included blogging! I’ll admit though, the only thing I feel like blogging about is pregnancy and babies. 🙂

More to come! I’m going to go “swim” myself to a snack.

3 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming

  1. Brittany says:

    Congratulations Sarah! I had no idea you were pregnant until just now! I can totally relate to this post – It describes me perfectly for the first 3 1/2 months of my pregnancy. It’s only been the last couple of weeks that I’ve felt better. For me, the combination of pregnancy and low blood sugar meant that I had to eat every 1 1/2 – 2 hours (even through the night). I got SO tired of eating/making food all of the time. Good times. Congratulations again!

Leave a Reply

