A Strange Season

Pregnancy is a strange season in a woman’s life, unless you’re one of those people who “OMG loooooves being pregnant!” <——not me. It’s a season of waiting. And waiting. And wishing time would hurry up. It’s a season where I think to myself, “I hope I don’t throw up today.” It’s a season where your belly expanding and belly button disappearing is a good thing (very counter intuitive.)

It’s a season where I will do strange things for food. Running to the store just for oranges is one thing. Since I’m pregnant, I can justify the fact that all I’ve eaten today is cereal, fruit snacks and a ton of girl scout cookies. The strangest craving yet–broccoli. I’ve always liked broccoli, but I am so desperate for a big bowl of steamed, buttered broccoli, I am about to drive to the store just to get some.

4 thoughts on “A Strange Season

  1. Mandy says:

    You are so right. With Bekah I had a major aversion to rice. The sight of it made me want to throw up. Which in a Mexican family is a very bad thing. With Annie I was all about spicy foods, I have always been the girl that sits at the mexican restaurant unable to eat the chips and salsa because its to hot, but with Annie it was the hotter the better. I craved jalapeño poppers, and my father in laws salsa verde. Oh the things pregnancy does. And after pregnancy is a trip to…like night sweats so bad your sheets are soaked, not to mention the engorment. But it’s rewarding : )

  2. ruffelles says:

    mmm… broccoli 🙂 My weirdest thing was before being pregnant (I’m at 16w) my husband and I ate hummus several times a week. Now, I haven’t been able to stomach even a thought of the stuff for about 3 months – wahhh!! good luck with everything – blessings.xo

  3. Nicole says:

    Wow, that’s awesome that you’re craving broccoli and oranges! I have this fear that when I’m pregnant, all I’ll want are donuts or something so unhealthy like that. LOL!

Leave a Reply

