Anticipation, Participation, Posticipation

I love the anticipation of Christmas almost as much as the participation. And then…there’s December 26th. Posticipation. After the fact. The Christmas tree is still up…and doesn’t really belong anymore. Suddenly instead of feeling like I’m celebrating the Christmas season, I feel behind. The decor needs to come down. The house needs to be cleaned. I need to find a spot for the fun gifts we received.

So today, I’m catching up. Getting the laundry done. Vacuuming. Trying out my new little green ProHeat Bissell. The next “holiday” is the celebration of the new year.

For me, the start of a new year feels a little like mental spring cleaning. I feel like it’s my chance to let go of whatever disappointments or hurts last year held. I give myself permission to let go of those things and move on. When I was much younger I used to write scads of New Year’s resolutions…most of which fell by the wayside. Now I enjoy setting some loose goals for the year, such as what I’d like to be mentally or spiritually focused on for the year. I’ll be thinking through what 2013’s goals might be this week and share them with you in a few days.

Do you like to set New Year’s resolutions? How do you feel now that Christmas is over?

Leave a Reply

