Pressing Forward—2013

Judy Garland – “Always be a first rate version of yourself and not a second rate version of someone else.”

You’ve heard it. I’ve heard it. At this point, it’s a cliché. It’s embarrassing to admit this, but I frequently find myself overanalyzing every conversation I have, every interaction, to the point where I can’t even enjoy the moment. With how much I do or don’t say, I try to be someone I think the other person will like. To some degree, this is necessary in our relationships. We don’t respond to a “how are you?” the same if the post office guy is asking or our best friend is asking. This over analysis however, creates hesitation. And I think this hesitation causes me, and others, to miss out on a great deal.

For example…

I notice that the woman in front of me at the store has really great hair. It’s the kind of hair I’ve always desired. I want to pay her a compliment, but I start to think of all the reasons I shouldn’t. It might make her feel awkward. Maybe she’ll think I’m weird. Maybe she will blow off the compliment and make me feel dumb.

I decide not to pay her the compliment. I’ve risked nothing. And we’ve both missed out on a potentially pleasant interaction.

So this year, the year of 2013, I pledge to press forward with more courage, and less over analysis. To speak with more confidence and less trepidation. To know something that would be good to do…and do it!

2 thoughts on “Pressing Forward—2013

  1. pinkbekah says:

    Ya know, once I resolved to be more verbal with complimenting people and it was always such a gift to myself when I did! And then I kinda forgot about it, but your post reminded me to always speak out when I have something nice to say!

Leave a Reply

