Gluten Free Food Trial

Today marks 3 weeks of being gluten free (gf) for me. I was prompted to try going off gluten to see if it was related to my migraines. I’ve suffered from migraines for a long time and tried just about every trick in the book (MRI, neurologist, narcotics, antidepressants, TMJ treatment)…except food eliminations. I was hoping that by this time I would be noticing a decrease in my almost daily migraines. Alas, gluten doesn’t seem to be the problem. A mixed blessing. On the one hand, I would do just about anything to get rid of these migraines. On the other hand, I’m pretty fond of pasta.

Imagevia

In these three weeks, I’ve discovered just how much pasta I used to eat. I had to come up with a fairly altered dinner menu for these three weeks. Some things we would already eat, like taco salad and nachos. Lunch has been much more difficult, especially since there’s nothing easier for lunch than a PB&J sandwich.

I’m giving this experiment one more week. It’s certainly been an interesting three weeks, and I’ve really expanded my list of possible dinners. One thing I learned is that most nicer restaurants have a fairly extensive (and delicious) gf menu. My favorite was a gf wild pear and chicken pizza from the Wild Pear restaurant in downtown Salem.

As I’ve considered what it would be like to eliminate gluten from my life, it’s caused me to really consider the practical side of being gf. It is definitely more expensive. I had to buy special gf steel cut oats (a small package from Fred Meyer is over $5). Lunch is either soup (not expensive) or some type of protein (more expensive). Even cheap snacks like most crackers are off the list.

I never considered how many food products contain gluten. My favorite teriyaki sauce. My favorite Asian salad dressing. Cream of chicken soup. The upside to being gf is the plethora of options available. The bakery near my apartments has a list of special gf treats and pastries. Whole Foods has a gluten free section. Most foods are well marked to show if they have gluten. The biggest shocker to me was discovering that Werther’s Caramel Candies have gluten in them.

So here’s to one more week of being gluten free…and when this over I am going to make some cookies. White flour and all.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Food Trial

Leave a Reply

