Fall Reads

I’ve been reading a wide variety of books recently–from self help to James Herriot animal stories to romance novels. Feel free to find me on Goodreads.com. Here are some of my recent literary consumptions.

Last One Home by Debbie Macomber. Fun fact–Debbie Macomber is from my hometown in Port Orchard, Wa., and I’ve actually been to one of her book signings. She tends to write easy-to-read romance novels. Although this book is a romance, it has a more complex plot and I think it’s one of her best.

All Things Bright and Beautiful by James Herriot. I’m actually rereading all of Herriot’s books. I read them when I was growing up and I’m really enjoying going through them again.

Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives by Gretchen Rubin. She’s actually written several books and after reading this one, I  immediately checked out the rest of her books from the library. The most interesting thing for me about this book was how Rubin found new ways to categorize people. For example, she talks about people who are “underbuyers” vs people who are “overbuyers.” Overbuyers like to see a well stocked pantry and would rather have bought too much fabric than run out. Underbuyers tend to buy just enough and would rather have just barely enough fabric than a bunch of extra. I fall easily into the underbuyer category and it was interesting to think about it as a personality tendency.

What have you been reading lately? I’d love to get some more book suggestions.

One thought on “Fall Reads

Leave a Reply

