Hurry, Hurry!

When I think of being in a hurry, the white rabbit from Alice in Wonderland comes to mind. He’s rushing along, muttering, glancing at his pocket watch. white-rabbit-with-watch-1-1I’m a “hurry” kind of person and I tend to move quickly even when there’s no need to do so. I feel like my sub conscious mantra for a while was, “Anything worth doing is worth doing quickly.”

After two little girls joined our family however….have you ever tried quickly doing dishes with two little ones pulling on you and getting into trouble? It can be downright aggravating being interrupted every other minute as I’m hurrying to get a task done.

When Abrielle was small, it occurred to me how often I was rushing through a task and pushing her to just bear with whatever I was trying to do. I asked myself why I needed to hurry. Sometimes we did have an appointment to get to, but more often I was hurrying for no good reason. Why not slow down and take an hour in Target if we needed to?

I love this quote by C.S. Lewis,

“The great thing, if one can, is to stop regarding all the unpleasant things as interruptions of one’s ‘own,’ or ‘real’ life. The truth is of course that what one calls the interruptions are precisely one’s real life — the life God is sending one day by day.”

This month I’ve been nearly hit in my car several times by people in a hurry. Don’t forget to slow down this season and savor some moments with the people you love.

One thought on “Hurry, Hurry!

  1. Leah says:

    Nice post. I’m the exact opposite, I could probably use some of your hurry most days^^ But it’s a good reminded when the holiday season makes one feel so rushed.

Leave a Reply

