Recent Reads

Happy New Year! I haven’t made any resolutions, but I did choose a phrase for the year (to be disclosed in a future post) and I did set the goal of reading 50 books this year. Since I read 32 last year, I don’t find that an overly lofty goal. In lieu of a few lengthy reviews that let’s be honest, I don’t have the energy for, I thought I’d do three mini reviews on the three books I just finished.

First up….

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

Folks, this book is dry. Very dry. But, I loved the concepts presented. This book points out how introverts have been denigrated in today’s society and uses concrete examples of famous people to show the huge impact quietintroverts have had throughout history. Susan Cain also brings in a unique perspective on distinguishing introverts and extroverts. Rather than thinking about it in terms of social vs. antisocial, she presents it in terms of the level of stimulation (in an environment) a person is comfortable with and how much they deliberate (or don’t) before making decisions. There is a fun test you can take on her website.

 

The Best Yes by Lysa Terkeurstbestyes

I thought I would like this book more. I feel like she has 10 great sentences in this book, spread out over a very long winded 231 pages. The concept is good, and I’m a big proponent of setting boundaries and knowing when to say yes, but this book just didn’t connect with me.

 

Just Show Up by Kara Tippets

justshowupI loved this book. I think it’s a message that’s really needed in this day and age. We all long for community and friendship but are afraid or ill equipped to pursue it. This book was inspiring but also practical.

Leave a Reply

