Essentials Oil and Why I’m Still a Skeptic

I have heard essential oils referred to as “snake oil.” This basically describes something that people think of as a magical potion. I’ve seen folks apply this idea to a lot of things. My chiropractor’s office for instance, thinks they can heal all problems with adjustments. I’ve read books on how magnesium can fix all your problems. I’m very cautious when people act like one thing is a fix all.

While I do feel my family has been helped by the essential oils I’ve tested and tried, I’m still keeping a close eye on the results as I try different oils. I’m keeping a little journal of sorts to track when and how I use an oil and whether it was effective. As time passes, I plan to share my findings here.

The first oil I ever used is Young Living’s “Thieves” oil. It’s a blend that supposed to be great for immune support. I have noticed a difference, particularly for myself. I apply some to my wrists every day and I’ve been sick the least of all of us lately. Immune support is one of the hardest things to measure or quantify in my opinion. Maybe I wasn’t going to sick anyway and the Thieves oil is getting the credit. Maybe I just think it’s the Thieves oil that is helping me and this is a placebo effect. This is an example of my skepticism when it comes to things like this.

I found it much easier to measure the effectiveness of the DiGize oil I used this last weekend (see my last blog post). I noticed my pain was better within 15 minutes from ingesting this oil. I feel certain the oil was the cause of my pain relief. IMAG1034_1

If you are considering essential oils for your family, I encourage you to do your research and approach with a critical eye. I found one blog in particular to be helpful with my own research. Rebecca is the author of “A Beautiful Ruckus” and she posted her research and facts. She has quadruplets and has had enormous success using these with her kids, several of whom have special needs. Follow these links to read more.

http://www.abeautifulruckus.com/2014/01/essential-oils-do-they-really-work-or.html

http://www.abeautifulruckus.com/2014/06/essential-oils-how-i-saved-money-switching-to-young-living-essential-oils.html

Disclaimer: I am not an aromatherapist, and I have no formal essential oil training. This post (and all other posts about essential oils) should never take the place or be considered a substitution for a doctor’s advice. The information contained in these posts are for educational and entertainment purposes only. They are not meant to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease or ailment. Please do your own research and make your own informed decisions when you are considering lifestyle and health changes.

